Switch your notices to TEXT or EMAIL ASAP

After decades of use, our automatic telephone notification system has made its last call. As it is outdated and unable to be repaired, this software and machinery will not be replaced. Effective immediately, we need affected patrons to choose a new method to receive notices:

                TEXT or EMAIL (highly recommended)
                POSTAL MAIL (not recommended due to slow delivery times)

Please contact any BCLS branch library to update your notice delivery. If you were one of the patrons who did not receive a phone notice in early January, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience!


BCLS is providing curbside service only at all branches until further notice. If you have questions or need assistance, call your local branch location. The Bookmobile will continue to operate during this time, with items passed through the window. At Wirt, you are welcome to use either curbside or the pick-up window located on the east side of the building (Madison Ave).

Board of Trustees

The Bay County Library System Board of Trustees consists of five members appointed to five-year terms by the County Commission for the purpose of governing the operations of the libraries. The Board of Trustees conducts its business based on the board bylaws and meets monthly. Board minutes may be viewed either below or at the Administrative Office of the Bay County Library System located at 500 Center Avenue, Bay City MI 48708. Please see the current meeting schedule below. The meeting time is 5:30 pm.

The Board of Trustees for 2021 are as follows:

Mary Herr headshot

Mary Herr


Term expires 6/30/2022



Don Carlyon headshot

Don Carlyon

Vice Chairperson

Term expires 6/30/2021



User silhouette

Paul Travis


Term expires 6/30/2024



Sue Blondin headshot

Sue Blondin


Term expires 6/30/2025



Anne Harris headshot

Anne Harris


Term expires 6/30/2023



Regular Board Meeting Minutes

Board Meeting Schedule

Public notice will be posted in the branches if a change is made in the date, place, or time of the meeting.  The board minutes are stored at the library’s Administrative Office and are available for public inspection during regular business hours.

The 2021 board meetings will be held via Zoom Video Conferencing at https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83388529365

Any person with a disability who needs accommodations for participation in these meetings should contact the Board Office 5 days prior to the meeting at 989-894-2837 ext. 2225 or via email at jcoe@baycountylibrary.org.

January 27, 2021


May 26, 2021     

September 22, 2021

February 24, 2021

June 23, 2021

October 27, 2021

March 24, 2021

July 28, 2021

November 17, 2021

April 28, 2021

August 25, 2021

December 15, 2021

Annual board meeting immediately following the December 15, 2021, regular board meeting.